PWC Safety Regulations - Alaska
In the state of Alaska, people who operate a personal watercraft must take both basic boating safety courses as well as PWC specific courses to develop skills by an experienced instructor.
Due to Alaska’s frigid water temps it is best to also wear the right gear. Synthetic long underwear, a dry suit or a 2-3 millimeter wet suit, neoprene boots, neoprene or water-ski gloves, safety helmet, goggles along with the snug fitting USCG-approved PFD. As in all states, an inflatable PFD is not recommended for use while on a personal watercraft.
Operators must have the skill to reboard the PWC, from the rear of the craft, remembering how difficult this can be in deep, frigid, and possibly rough waters.
Operators must slow to 10 mph if within 100 feet of another vessel of any kind which is underway. Slow to no-wake speed within 100 feet of anchored or moored vessels and 200 feet of swimmers, divers, shoreline, dock or launch ramp.
Navigational lights are required if operating between sunset and sunrise or if visibility is limited. In some areas it is against the law to operate a PWC at all, contact the local land managers to find out which areas.
Keeping everyone safe is the ultimate goal for Alaska and your PWC insurance company.