PWC Safety Regulations - California
In California only those individuals 16 years of age and older can operate a PWC with a motor of 15 horsepower or more.
It is legal for a child 12 - 15 years of age to operate a PWC if they are being supervised by a person on board with them who is 18 or over.
As always, never go on the water without a life jacket, which is the law, and be sure to learn the federal regulations before taking the PWC out.
The USCG and your PWC insurance company will expect you to follow all California state and federal regulations pertaining to boating and PWC safety.