PWC Safety Regulations - Georgia
In Georgia, people who are 12 – 15 years of age can operate a personal watercraft if they have passed an approved boating safety course, or are accompanied by or under direct supervision within 400 yards of a competent adult which is someone over 18 years of age and not under the influence of alcohol.
Anyone 16 or over can operate a PWC as long as they have photo ID on board.
Each person riding on a PWC must wear a USCG approved Type I, II, III, or V life jacket. Inflatable PFDs are not allowed. It is also not allowed to operate a PWC between sunset and sunrise.
Always keep the PWC at idle speed when within 100 feet of another boat which is not underway or adrift, a dock or pier, a bridge, a person in the water, a shoreline adjacent to a residence, a public park or beach, a swimming area, a marina, a restaurant, or any other public use area.
It is also against the law to rent or lease a PWC to anyone 16 or under.
Before sharing your PWC, make sure the operator knows how it works and their responsibility as operator. Your PWC insurance company and the USCG will expect you to follow all Georgia state and federal regulations.