PWC Safety Regulations - Maryland
All registered personal watercrafts in the state of Maryland are required to display a Maryland PWC Regulations Sticker approved by the Natural Resources Police. No one can operate or allow someone else to operate a PWC without the sticker being displayed correctly on the vessel.
It must be attached on the upper half of the PWC, where the operator can easily read it. The sticker cannot be placed under the compartments. The stickers are dark colored for light colored PWCs and light colored for dark PWCs.
Individuals born after July 1, 1972 must carry a certificate showing they successfully complete a boater safety education course. Operators must be at least 16 years of age.
While operating a PWC, you must maintain 6 knots or slower if within 100 feet of another PWC, vessel, shore, pier, piling, bridge structure, abutment or any people in the water.
It is illegal to operate a PWC between sunset and sunrise, or to disturb waterfowl or wildlife.
When operating in the Atlantic Ocean, remain 300 feet from people in the water or those participating in surf fishing activities.
Always follow federal guidelines and requirements along with the Maryland state regulations as required by the USCG and your PWC insurance company.