PWC Safety Regulations - Virginia
In Virginia, persons must be at least 16 years of age to operate a personal watercraft on their own. For those 14 and 15 years, it is required they have completed and passed an approved boating education safety course and must carry proof they successfully completed the course at all times on the water – and show the proof upon request from local authorities.
Personal watercrafts are not to be operated between sunset and sunrise or within 50 feet of another PWC, boat, platform, shore, object or person except at a speed which not make wakes or swells.
Do not go over the limit of passengers, including when towing someone, than what is recommended by the manufacturer. Doing so is considered reckless and not allowed.
Inflatable PFD are not acceptable when operating a PWC; life jackets are required by everyone riding or being towed as is lanyards attached to the kill switches and to the operators person.
Knowing the rules and following them will help to keep everyone safe and having fun. Remember to have your PWC ready for the day by having it registered, licensed and insured .